Guyana is located in the continent of South America and covers 196,849 square kilometers of land and 18,120 square kilometers of water, making it the 85th largest nation in the world with a total area of 214,969 square kilometers and is bordered by Atlantic ocean. Initially, Guyana was named Guiana and was sighted by Christopher Columbus on his third voyage of discovery of the new world. But the first European who discovered Guyana was Sir Walter Raleigh in the year 1595 when he came in search of El Dorado (a city famous for having a huge amount of gold). He published The Discovery of Guiana in 1596, an account of his voyage which made exaggerated claims as to what had been discovered. After this, the Dutch settled in Guyana before coming under British control. Dutch were the first European who established colonies in Guyana. These colonies were Essequibo, Berbice, and Demerara. The Dutch left the area in the year 1814 when Britishers took control over Guyana.

Guyana is situated near the equator. Therefore its climate remains the same throughout the year. The temperature is not so high and it gets cooled by the northeast trade breeze and sea breezes. Rainfall starts in December and ends in February. So tourists can visit Guyana at any time of the year.

History of Guyana

The colony got independence under its new name, Guyana, on May 26. For several decades following independence, Guyana remained locked into a typical colonial economic dependency on agricultural and mined products, most notably sugarcane and bauxite. By the mid-1980s it was estimated that the government-controlled about four-fifth of the economy. But a privatization program was carried out, and government control was reduced.

Guyana Tourism

Guyana is one the most beautiful countries of South America. Its top most tourist places are

  • Georgetown – It has colonial buildings, museum, and urban culture which make this place attractive.
  • Kaieteur Falls – It is one of the most beautiful places on the earth. Here waterfalls from 750 feet make it the largest waterfall and it is also surrounded by parkland which makes it more attractive.
  • Surama – This place is home of the Makushi tribe and it is surrounded by mountains and forests.
  • Shell Beach – At this place, four different endangered species of turtles make it their nesting ground.  Rewa- It is the smallest village where different types of mammal can be seen.

Leave comment